I No Longer Ask Why

“You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul.” George Bernard Shaw

"Not Intended For Ground Contact," Mixed media on deep wood panel, "17 x 23"
“Not Intended For Ground Contact,” Mixed media on deep wood panel, “17 x 23”

You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul.” George Bernard Shaw

 A couple years ago I a wrote asking art lovers to respond with specifics about a piece of art, not just “beautiful” or “wonderful” or any other single word adjective. Part of me would still like more, but I have decided I was wrong—wrong to ask any viewer to explain their emotions or feelings about a specific piece of work. (Let’s face it sometimes I don’t want to have to explain even to a juror what my painting is “about.”)

Instead, I am now content to just “like.” I have come to understand as one blogger Ralph Ammer puts it, “art is a mirror for artists and viewers alike.” When we as artists have put all of our thoughts, feelings, and emotions into a piece, our story is told. Our view is registered. For the viewer, the reflection begins when they stand before the piece or see it online. And often their emotions and thoughts are so personal and complex, they may feel there is yet another story to tell—or not tell.

So, I no longer ask “why.” I am just grateful that they are art lovers and that I have the opportunity through my paintings to touch someone or trigger a few thoughts.

 

 

 

 

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

2 thoughts on “I No Longer Ask Why”

    1. Well, perhaps the birth symbolism is because my life has been so intertwined with birth and death the last six months. My93-year-old mother’s Lewy Body dementia has gotten much worst, my youngest and probably last grandson was born in June, and in August my brother died. But the painting is part of a series I am working on currently called Shades of Grey by me, looking at extremes in thought and realizing that no one is “only one thing or the other, one extreme or the other.” This one was inspired by the two extremes work and home, thus the symbolism of the nest and the title. Love your writing and spirit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

