Purple Deceiver

Where paintings take us

purpledeceiverside
“Purple Deceiver,” 16″ x 20″ x 3″, mixed media on deep wood panel, https://www.artsicle.com/artist/art/purple-deceiver/details

On an early morning hike just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, my husband and I noticed a purple mushroom. Several photographs later, I thought I might paint a simple abstract landscape, but alas, paintings take us “where they want to go” sometimes. And this one took me many places.

Before I started anything, I really wanted to identify the mushroom. I was so excited when I found the name purple deceiver, but a few minutes later a less amusing name appeared: purple cort or cortinarius iodes. So I stopped there because I really wanted it to be a purple deceiver and to take on the complexity that denotes a con artist. After all, this little beauty had definitely misled me. And being here in the middle of a political season that will not be discussed, but can certainly be defined as full of “deceivers,” I decided that no matter what, this painting was “Purple Deceiver.”

Nothing about it is particularly clear. Everything is suggestive.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

