Dancing

NaturalTurnaf
Natural Turn, 15.5″ x 15.5″, mixed media on board

For about 3 years my husband and I enjoyed ballroom dancing and liked the time we spent learning together despite the fact that I had great difficulty following his lead. He is the better dancer, often having to count in my ear as we learned the tango (4 beats to a three beat count), the foxtrot (4 beats with a slide), or the waltz (3 beats with a rise and fall). As part of the basics of the waltz we learned the natural turn, the promenade, the twinkle, and the reverse turn.

Although the waltz has always been my favorite, I suspect I will always have trouble following. This piece is how the natural turn feels when the music takes possession and you are in the moment.

 

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

