Art Can Change Attitudes

Art is even more important as we age.

BreathingGroundI
“Breathing Ground I,” 36″ x 15″, a celebration of marshes

 We all know art is important, but I believe it is even more important as we age.

Reason #1 It Makes Me Happy

When I pick up a brush and put paint on paper or board, I loose myself. I forget that the world is messed up, that my knees hurt, that the young person at the check out looked past me and not at me. When a couple hours have passed the world looks more hopeful, there’s even a spot of yellow or red I can see in the distance. My knees… I can still walk. And that young person at the checkout, could it be that they were just having a bad day—a car payment was late or they didn’t sleep staying up late with a small child.

(To Be Continued)

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

