Don’t Just Hit “Like”

constantlyseeking
“Constantly Seeking,” 8″ x 6″ mixed media on deep wood panel

Perhaps texting and facebook have made me lazy about discussing art.

I’ve noticed lately that too many times I hit “like,” or say “beautiful,” “awesome,” or “ really nice” about a posted painting. But really, everything cannot be impressive, overwhelming, or breathtaking. Even if I don’t particularly like a piece of art, I can always ask questions that will let the artist know I have seriously looked at their work.

While art is subjective, it doesn’t mean I can’t use descriptions about its value to me, its effect on me as a viewer. Even using the word inspiring doesn’t tell anyone why I believe an artist is inspiring, so forgive me for my Pinterest board with that title. At the very least, I should tell you why an artist is inspiring— even if it is simply the art “makes my heart ache.” Or, “I’ve never seen anything with so much detail.” Or,” I wish I could combine colors this way.”

So for me, when I comment from now on, I will be more specific, and I will ask more questions. I just might learn something that helps me, and it won’t hurt me to quit using the “like” button on art, to take it one step further. It might just show someone I put value on their art and their hard work’.

 

 

 

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

