Brave Enough to Be Three

"What We Do Not See," 24" x 36"
What We Do Not See, 24″ x 36″

Are we better artist at three or four-years-old than forty? Do we see shapes and colors in everything at that age and later have to retrain ourselves to see those same beautiful shapes and colors?

Sometimes I think that is true. My three-year-old grandson commented on an abstract painting I was working on this weekend. “Waterfall,” he said very quickly as he glanced at it in the studio.

A few weeks earlier we had been taking short hikes in the mountains where he played in shallow pools at the base of waterfalls. I admit I was thinking of rocks when I painted this one, but his connection amazed me. If I were only brave enough to be three…even for a day.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

2 thoughts on “Brave Enough to Be Three”

Leave a Reply

