Turning Things Upside Down (Part I)

Perspective is important in life and particularly important to an artist. We look at things differently and have a strong need to provide our own unique spin. If we just copy, then I doubt we will be truly successful.

As someone who paints primarily abstracts, I have difficultly sometimes deciding which way is up and which way is down. The photos below illustrate a class demonstration I did of a transfer painting. It is a simple method for doing a monoprint of sorts without a press. Mine is on a wooden cradle, and if I finish this painting, I am ready to add or subtract from these elements. But at this point in the process, I have to ask, which way is up and which way is down.

Here I see a fence and a round bale of hay.
Here I see a fence and a round bale of hay.
Or here, a winter sun through the trees.
Or here, a winter sun through the trees.
My husband sees a hornet's nest here.
My husband sees a hornet’s nest here.

What do you see? Comments are welcome.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

