Warts and All, Part II

Should I show you more layers or just the finished product? Here’s about 5 layers in.

layer14

The painting is called “Natural Turn.” Initially, the idea was for this to be a bit more representational, but I think it had a mind of its own. This painting started with the  tissue paper collage at the top.The image was a scan of an actual branch from my cinnamon broom from the holidays. I knew I loved the movement of the branches and thought perhaps it was tree, but no.

Here is what it became through 4 or 5 more layers.

"Natural Turn," 15.5" x 15.5" on wooden cradle.
“Natural Turn,” 15.5″ x 15.5″ on wooden cradle.
Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

2 thoughts on “Warts and All, Part II”

  1. I am not an artist myself, so allow me to ask a layman’s question,: do you sometimes remove or scratch away the upper layers in some places to expose some of the underlying stuff again?

    Like

Leave a Reply

