A Simple Artistic New Year’s Resolution

hallowedfull

This year I’ve decided there will be small changes in my artistic year. No biggies—though hopefully they will add up to bigger changes.

I will learn more about photographing my particular art. I’ve tried hiring professionals, and while the photographs were good….well just not great. Since my art has quite a bit of tactile as well as visual texture, it is hard to photograph in a manner that successfully communicates that texture.

I spent part of my holiday shopping expeditions looking at new cameras and lighting equipment. Then in talking with a camera shop owner, he said it wasn’t the camera or the lights, but where the lights were being placed.  His suggestion was to get home improvement store work lights and place them so that instead of diffusing light they cast shadows. “You’re just going to have to play with them,” was his advice.

So, I did. This first one was fairly successful, but my second one less so.  This isn’t going to be easy, and may take extra work each time. I guess that’s why they call it a resolution. See the photo for my first or was it the fifth attempt?

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

