It’s the Little Touches That Count

cornercradle
The painted back side of the cradle.

 

My Mother always used to say “it’s the little touches that count.” She taught me that if the blouse was a little old, you could change the whole outfit by wearing a new scarf that would catch the eye. I think the little touches also make a difference when it come to your paintings.

Have you ever thought about how the back of your art looks. Some people don’t really have to worry much about this since they are really neat. I’m not. Mixed media is always messy and even taping off the back doesn’t always work for me. So, I’ve taken to doing a little taping and the final finishing with paint.

I think I was reminded of this in a marketing workshop several years ago. I had never thought about it before, but then looking carefully began to see some pretty unprofessional work including my own. I realized if I was a buyer it would make me wonder if the artist really cared about their work.

In my case, it creates another whole step in the process. But, it means I can ship paintings that I am proud of, that I know reflect my care of the work, and most of all that show I value my work.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

