Learning From Others

When Words Fail, 30" x 20", Mixed media collage
When Words Fail, 30″ x 20″, Mixed media collage

About four years ago I had the wonderful experience of an 11-month artist’s residency. Since then I have pretty much worked on my own in a home studio which has the advantage of being ready when needed and affordable. But a few weeks ago when I attended a two-week workshop, I realized how much I missed interaction with other artists.

My initial idea for a solution was to teach a class because I also missed teaching. Then fate intervened. While looking for a suitable teaching space, I found a new artist’s collective that was looking for a couple more members. Luckily, they liked my work.

Why do I need this interaction? Haven’t I learned a lot on my own? I have, but…While I read quite a bit, there is something special about another person’s perspective, another person’s way of approaching a problem or an idea. It often improves your own process or changes your way of thinking. It is a type of learning we don’t get by reading or studying alone or sitting with our computer or ipad.

This new group of artists has already challenged me to try something new. They enjoy teaching and sharing their talents with others. Most of all, they are artists who love making art and that alone is inspiring!

 

 

 

 

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

