Just Paint

Image
“Spilling Over”
copyright 2014 Patricia Steele Raible

It’s been a week since I returned from a 8-day intensive workshop in Taos, New Mexico, with four wonderful artists and teachers: Fran Larsen, Katherine Chang Liu, Skip Lawrence, and Topher Schink. I still feel a little like I am in a time warp. I’m sure part of it is the concentration on art every day without life interfering. This was a workshop I contemplated for two years before finally saying yes, and I’m very glad I did. That said, how do I carry forth that momentum—beyond a week, a month or a year?

They advised and I concur that you do it by having a plan and doing your very best to stay with it. Painting every day makes a big difference in my work and in my temperament. Yes, sometimes life intervenes. We can’t help sickness, death, or even the occasional family crisis, but you can paint through all of it. My plan is a simple one: getting up an hour earlier every day gives me one more hour to paint. No computer, no phone, just paint.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

