You Just Have to Work

After a good start to the new year,  I’ve had a slow time. A very slow time. A time when every doubt begins to creep in. I’m not going to tell you that now my art has taken off. It hasn’t. But I have used the last week or so to identify the difference between January and March. I think its pretty simple. In January I was painting every day, every morning before I answered the first email. What I produced wasn’t always good, but finally it added up, and I finished four new pieces in rapid succession.

Then “things” happened. I found reasons (and very valid ones) to let other things take that time away. So now I need to jump start again, and this time I need to keep on track. I know what I have to do, and if I don’t there are reminders. One really interesting recent piece is a keeper, a good reminder of what creative people need to do to stay creative. Happy reading: http://www.tylerwardis.com/inspire-inspiration/

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

One thought on “You Just Have to Work”

  1. Hi Patricia, I know this one all too well. I have been struggling with this since forever (and getting fed up with it too!) It seems that having deadline is what gets me into action to working/completing work. Without this ‘things’ in life just take over and the art time is suddenly gone. I have done quite a bit of reading over the winter months and came across a book which in my opinion has offered me very sound advice in this struggle to maintain a creative practice. The book is ‘The accidental creative’ by Todd Henry if you want to check it out. I particularly liked how his strategies were for all sorts of creative people – especially in business and not just for artists. I enjoyed the article too in your post – it all helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

