Doing Something Crazy

Image
“All Fogged Up” self portrait, mixed media on paper

I recently read a blog about stretching yourself, getting your mind, and in the case of artists your hands, out of the old routines just for a while. The blog suggested that if we did this a few times we might forge new paths.

Well, I can’t draw very well. At best I am an expressive doodler. But just for fun I used leftover paint and scraps of paper to make a base for mixed media drawings.  I thought I would do just markings, but I began to see a person, a person with goggles. So I decided to do an exaggerated drawing of myself in my swim gear and enter it in a self portrait contest. Truly, nothing I’ve ever done before.

Is it time you mixed things up a bit?

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

