Keep Talking

I’ve recently written about talking to myself. Oh sure, I talk to myself while running through the grocery store or while I am creating in the studio. But who knew I was actually improving my learning and performance?

As many of you know, I love the The Brillant Report. One of the newest issues cites studies that motivational and instructional self-talk help us “learn and perform at our best”. http://anniemurphypaul.com/2013/12/the-right-way-to-talk-to-yourself  However, the best results came with instructional self-talk when training in fine motor skills was involved.

I guess that means the best self-talk is when you are learning new techniques or applying a new process. However, I seriously doubt I will ever learn to control my inner cheerleader. In fact, I recently cheered myself through the ups and downs of this diptych, A Hop, Skip, and a Jump.

patricia_steele_raible_hop,skip,jump.761 x 373
When I taught writing, the exploring phase was the easiest for most students and for me. Still it is only A Hop, Skip, and Jump to the final piece.
Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

