Talk to Yourself As A Friend

When I don’t get in a particular exhibit, when it seems that everyone else is selling artwork and I’m not, I berate myself. And believe me, I can be pretty tough. I even yell at myself. But someone passed me a blog, “The First Step to Being Powerful,” that I believe is worth reading. It’s primarily about business, but I think its meaning applies to many areas of life.

The author of this blog Nilofer Merchant ends with these words:

“Own your story, and you own your life, Justine Musk recently wrote. Talk to yourself as a friend, not an enemy. And remember, you cannot change anything unless you first see your own self as powerful enough to act. The way we talk of ourselves and to ourselves grants power – narrative power — to what happens next.”

You can find the entire piece here: http://blogs.hbr.org/2013/11/the-first-step-to-being-powerful/

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

