Without Art There is No Education

Art is critical to education. I believe there is far too much emphasis placed just on science and math these days. Knowing formulas or performing experiments means little if you do not have the creativity to put these skills into practice. What do they mean in a larger society? How can they be used for the good of our world?  I believe art is path for teaching this creative thinking.  Here is one school that has made it work:  my children’s former middle school in Annapolis, Maryland. Congratulations to the parents for believing.  Here is the article:     http://www.edutopia.org/stw-arts-integration

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

3 thoughts on “Without Art There is No Education”

  1. I agree, but with one little grain of salt. I don’t see a necessary opposition between arts and sciences, because I see creativty at the basis of both. I think that creativity is not confined to the arts. Math and science themselves require creativity at their core. There are mathematical proofs showing that certain mathematical activities, like finding proofs, cannot be done according to any fixed scheme. Creativity is required for them. It is not jus doing calculations, you need to innovate. I am a computer programmer and I experience programming also as a highly creative activity (even with aesthetic aspects), just like composing music, for example.

    Like

    1. You are certainly correct. There is creativity in all fields. I believe there is too much emphasis on keeping “the arts” as something separate, something nice but not necessary. I believe the arts, science, math, history, etc. should be integrated as they have done in the school I cited. I want children to be able to use what they have learned in bettering the world. I’m not really interested in how well they take a test.

      Like

Leave a Reply

