The Artist “story”: Sharing the Simple Concept from the Heart

Image

Artists are frequently reminded of the importance of “telling their story.”

As an artist and writer, I wrestle with this concept: Do I tell my story in simple terms or in a wordy, more cerebral manner? Too often I think I do the latter, believing that this type of language best depicts the layers of thought and emotion. But I am wrong.

While I like to research a subject to the greatest detail to be sure I have all the facts, I don’t need to share all of that with my audience. The truth is that the simple story, the simple concept from the heart communicates best and probably allows people to enjoy my work on whatever level they choose.

So, this new piece is called “Secrets Swallowed.” These are the memories I am not particularly proud of—memories I wish I could forget. But they are always there beneath the surface.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

