Expressive Drawing: A Happy Day

Image

As an artist I often lament that I can’t draw well. A book I just discovered is changing my view: Expressive Drawing by artist and art educator Steven Aimone.  He reminds me that we can all draw, but perhaps not render as well as others.

My first lesson in automatic drawing with a yardstick and brush produced some interesting markings. Half of it was done with my left hand, another alternative the author suggests.

Trying new things makes for a happy day.

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

4 thoughts on “Expressive Drawing: A Happy Day”

    1. So much. I think it gave me the freedom to draw without worrying about the lines looked like an object or person. I could use the lines to represent emotion. So markings became important. I also liked learning about the quality of line.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

