Criticizing Art

Strolling through Asheville’s galleries I began thinking about a recent comment by Seth Godin, a blogger, best-selling author, and entrepreneur. Godin says that before you criticize art, you should educate yourself: try to understand what is being attempted by the art form and the artist.

This is often difficult for me.  I admit that sometimes I just don’t get it, and in that vein, I spend a lot of time looking at contemporary art both in galleries and on the Internet. I hope that all artists do this. I have one question: do we really need one more fish flying off the wall?

Author: patricia906

I am a mixed media artist using surface design and texture to explore the patterns and associations in our world.

Leave a Reply

